Ibibio Sound Machine

Ibibio Sound Machine



or 4 payments of NZD $15.74 with Afterpay more info

Earn Club Points on most items. Once you earn 200, you'll receive a $20 voucher in that purchase.

More about the Real Groovy Club

Collect 63pts with this purchase!
Earn Club Points on this item
Afterpay Purchases Excluded
What's this?

  • Sourced from EU supplier - Usually ships in 5-10 business days
  • Free Delivery - within NZ orders over $50

Vinyl LP pressing. 2014 release from the London-based band. Fronted by British/Nigerian vocalist Eno Williams, they combine elements of West African highlife, Disco, Post-Punk and Psychedelic Electro Soul. a unique sound born out of the mixed up nature of London today, Ibibio Sound Machine was started by producers Max Grunhard, Leon Brichard and Benji Bouton. After first tracking all the bass and drum tracks they joined up with Ghanaian guitar legend Alfred 'Kari' Bannerman (from fellow Soundway signing Konkoma), before adding Brazilian Anselmo Netto on percussion and synth/horn men Tony Hayden and Scott Baylis to Eno Williams' lyrics. a dose of Electronica with a forward-looking, refreshingly un-retro approach that's influenced by London as much as by West Africa, give the vocals and guitar lines space to breathe without being overwhelmed.


10 tracks, 1 side

Side 1

  1. Voice of the Bird (Uyio Inuen)
  2. I'm Running (Nya Fehe)
  3. The Talking Fish (Asem Usem Iyak)
  4. Let's Dance (Yak Inek Unek)
  5. Uwa the Peacock (Eki Ko Inuen Uwa)
  6. The Tortoise (Nsaha Edem Ikit)
  7. Woman of Substance (Awuwan Itiaba)
  8. Prodigal Son (Ayen Ake Feheke)
  9. Got to Move, Got to Get Out! (Ana Nkpong ana Nwuoro)
  10. Ibibio Spiritual
  • Artist Ibibio Sound Machine
  • Format LP
  • Released 2014
  • Label Aec
  • Genre World Beat
  • UPC 5060091553866
  • Website ID 5060091553866