Aretha (4cd Set)

Aretha Franklin

Aretha (4cd Set)

Format — CD (new)

$109.95 - $119.95

or 4 payments of NZD $27.49 with Afterpay more info

Available from 2 suppliers:

Earn Club Points on most items. Once you earn 200, you'll receive a $20 voucher in that purchase.

More about the Real Groovy Club

Collect 220pts with this purchase!
Double Club Points on this item
Afterpay Purchases Excluded
What's this?

  • In Stock at Real Groovy - In Stock. Usually ships next business day
  • Free Delivery - within NZ orders over $100

Four CD set. To say that Aretha Franklin was one of the greatest American artists of all time is an understatement. Her multi-octave voice moved millions around the world during an unrivaled career that spanned six decades and garnered the singer-songwriter every achievement and honor imaginable. Her reign as the Queen of Soul will play out across four discs on this boxed set from Rhino that is the first to span her entire career, including songs from every label she recorded with. Among the collection's 81 newly remastered tracks, 19 are making their CD and digital debuts, including alternate versions of classic hits, demos, rarities, and live tracks, like her stunning performance of "(You Make Me Feel) Like A Natural Woman" at The 38th Annual Kennedy Center Honors in 2015. To put Franklin's life and career into perspective, the collection is accompanied by liner notes written by Rochelle Riley, author and director of arts and culture for the City of Detroit, and David Nathan, a music journalist and soul historian who interviewed Franklin more times than any other living writer. The collection also features stunning artwork by celebrated artist Makeba Keebs Rainey, who provides her signature style to a classic portrait of the Queen of Soul by renowned photographer Neal Preston.

  • First Released: 2021
  • Label: Atlantic

80 tracks, 4 sides

Side 1

  1. Never Grow Old (Live)
  2. You Grow Closer (Live)
  3. Today I Sing The Blues
  4. Won't Be Long
  5. Are You Sure
  6. Operation Heartbreak
  7. Skylark
  8. Runnin' Out Of Fools
  9. One Step Ahead
  10. (No, No) I'm Losing You
  11. Cry Like A Baby
  12. A Little Bit Of Soul
  13. My Kind of Town (Detroit Is) [Demo]
  14. Try a Little Tenderness (Demo)
  15. I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) [2018 Mono Remaster]
  16. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man (2018 Mono Remaster)
  17. Respect (2018 Mono Remaster)
  18. A Change Is Gonna Come (Mono)
  19. Chain of Fools (Alternate Version)
  20. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction [UK Single Version]
  21. (Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You've Been Gone [2020 Remaster]
  22. Ain't No Way (2020 Remaster)
  23. My Song (2018 Mono Remaster)
  24. You Send Me (2018 Mono Remaster)
  25. The House That Jack Built (2018 Mono Remaster)

Side 2

  1. Baby, I Love You (Live at the Olympia Theatre, Paris, May 7, 1968)
  2. Son of a Preacher Man
  3. Call Me (Alternate Version)
  4. Let It Be (with The Dixie Flyers) [2020 Remaster]
  5. Young, Gifted and Black (Alternate Longer Take)
  6. Bridge Over Troubled Water (Long Version)
  7. It's Not Unusual / See Saw (with Tom Jones) [Live]
  8. You're All I Need to Get By (Work Tape)
  9. Brand New Me (Alternate Take 6)
  10. Spanish Harlem (Alternate Mix)
  11. Rock Steady (Alternate Mix - Young, Gifted and Black Outtake)
  12. Day Dreaming
  13. Share Your Love with Me (Live at Fillmore West, San Francisco, CA, 3/6/1971)
  14. Don't Play That Song (Live at Fillmore West)
  15. Dr. Feelgood (Live)
  16. Spirit in the Dark (Reprise) [Live at Fillmore West]
  17. How I Got Over (Live at New Temple Missionary Baptist Church, Los Angeles, January 13, 1972) [Single
  18. Master of Eyes (The Deepness of Your Eyes)

Side 3

  1. Somewhere (Alternate Version)
  2. Angel (Work Tape)
  3. The Boy from Bombay
  4. Til It's Over (Demo)
  5. Oh Baby AKA There's Something Magic About You (Demo)
  6. Until You Come Back to Me (Demo)
  7. I'm in Love (Alternate Vocal - Let Me in Your Life Outtake)
  8. Without Love
  9. Mr. D.J. (5 For The D.J.)
  10. You
  11. Something He Can Feel (Edit)
  12. Look Into Your Heart
  13. Break It to Me Gently
  14. When I Think About You
  15. Almighty Fire (Woman of the Future)
  16. Ladies Only (Short Version)
  17. You Light Up My Life
  18. Ooo Baby Baby (with Smokey Robinson) [Live]
  19. Amazing Grace (Live)

Side 4

  1. Think - By The Blues Brothers & Aretha Franklin
  2. I Say a Little Prayer (with Dionne Warwick) [Live]
  3. United Together
  4. Jump To It
  5. The Wind
  6. Freeway of Love
  7. Sisters Are Doing It for Themselves - By Aretha Franklin & Eurythmics
  8. I Knew You Were Waiting (For Me) - By Aretha Franklin & George Michael
  9. Oh Happy Day (Live)
  10. A Rose Is Still a Rose
  11. Someday We'll All Be Free
  12. The Makings of You
  13. Nessun Dorma (Live)
  14. At Last (with Lou Rawls) [Live]
  15. You've Got A Friend (feat. Aretha Franklin) - By Ronald Isley
  16. Rolling in the Deep (The Aretha Version)
  17. My Country 'Tis of Thee
  18. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman [Live]
  • Artist Aretha Franklin
  • Format CD
  • Released 2021
  • Label Atlantic
  • Genre Soul/R & B
  • UPC 603497846238
  • Website ID 603497846238

Soul & RNB