Liz Phair

Girly - Sound To Guyville (25th Anniversary Deluxe



or 4 payments of NZD $19.99 with Afterpay more info
Product Unavailable

  • Free Delivery - within NZ orders over $50

2018 marks the 25th anniversary of Liz Phair's landmark Exile in Guyville album. On May 4th, Matador Records will release Girly-Sound To Guyville, an extensive limited edition box set to celebrate the anniversary. The box set contains the first ever official release of the legendary Girly-Sound songs, which have been restored from their original three cassettes and mastered onto vinyl. It also contains a remastered double LP edition of Exile In Guyville and a 44 page book containing an extensive oral history, essays by Liz Phair and journalist Ann Powers, never before seen photographs, artwork and ephemera. Originally released in 1993, Exile In Guyville is a seminal album and a feminist landmark. Its legendary status has only grown over the years. It's continually included in countless lists...Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest albums of all time + 100 best albums of the 90s, Pitchfork's Top 100 albums of the 90s, etc. Numerous essays and think pieces have been written about it and the number of accolades piled on is endless. Since the release of Exile in Guyville, Liz Phair has continued to defy expectation and break barriers. She has released five albums, and is currently working on a new one with Ryan Adams. She has also composed music for television shows and received awards for that work. In November, it was announced that she would be fulfilling a longtime dream to be an author, and she received a two-book deal with Random House. Her first book will be called Horror Stories which focuses on "heartbreak, motherhood, and everything in between." "A landmark of foul-mouthed, compromised intimacy, a tortured confessional, a workout in female braggadocio, and a wellspring of penetrating self-analysis and audacity." - The New Yorker "Maybe the greatest work of traditional American indie rock that anyone has ever made. It's also probably the best road-trip album of its generation and the signal of a rare talent's arrival. It deserves to be celebrated. Let's do that." - Stereogum


56 tracks, 14 sides

Side 1

  1. 6'1''
  2. Help Me Mary
  3. Glory
  4. Dance of The Seven Veils
  5. Never Said

Side 2

  1. Soap Star Joe
  2. Explain It To Me
  3. Canary
  4. Mesmerizing

Side 3

  1. Fuck and Run
  2. Girls! Girls! Girls!
  3. Divorce Song
  4. Shatter
  5. Flower

Side 4

  1. Johnny Sunshine
  2. Gunshy
  3. Stratford-On-Guy
  4. Strange Loop

Side 5

  1. White Babies
  2. Shane
  3. 6 Dick Pimp

Side 6

  1. Divorce Song
  2. Go West
  3. Don't Holdyrbreath
  4. Johnny Sunshine

Side 7

  1. Miss Lucy
  2. Elvis Song
  3. Dead Shark

Side 8

  1. Money
  2. One Less Thing
  3. In Love w/Yself

Side 9

  1. Hello Sailor
  2. Wild-Thing
  3. Fuck And Run
  4. Easy Target

Side 10

  1. Soap Star Joe
  2. Any In Alaska

Side 11

  1. Polyester Bride
  2. Thrax
  3. Miss Mary Mack
  4. Clean

Side 12

  1. Love Song
  2. Valentine

Side 13

  1. Gigolo
  2. Flower
  3. Batmobile
  4. Slave
  5. Open Season
  6. Whip Smart

Side 14

  1. Suckerfish
  2. California
  3. South Dakota
  4. Bomb
  5. Easy
  6. Chopsticks
  • Artist Liz Phair
  • Format LP
  • Released 2018
  • Label Matador--Ada--
  • Genre Rock
  • UPC 744861130512
  • Website ID 744861130512