String Quartets 2 & 4

A. Schoenberg

String Quartets 2 & 4

Format — CD (new)


or 4 payments of NZD $11.99 with Afterpay more info
Product Unavailable

  • Sourced from US supplier - Usually ships in 5-10 business days
  • Free Delivery - within NZ orders over $100

The Fourth String Quartet of 1936 is very much representative of Schoenberg's late style. The slow movement opens with a long unison recitative in all four instruments while the finale has the character of a march, similar to the last movement of Schoenberg's Violin Concerto written about the same time.

This work in four movements was written during a very emotional time in Schoenberg's life. Though it bears the dedication "to my wife", it was written during Mathilde Schoenberg's affair with their friend and neighbour, artist Richard Gerstl, in 1908. The third and fourth movements are quite unusual for a string quartet, as they also include a soprano singer, Marie Gutheil-Schoder, using poetry written by Stefan George.

  • First Released: 2000
  • Label: Mdg

8 tracks, 1 side

Side 1

  1. I. Massig
  2. II. Sehr rasch
  3. III. Litanei. Langsam
  4. IV. Entruckung. Sehr langsam
  5. 1. Allegro molto, energico
  6. 2. Comodo
  7. 3. Largo
  8. 4. Allegro
  • Artist A. Schoenberg
  • Format CD
  • Released 2000
  • Label Mdg
  • Genre Classical Composers
  • UPC 760623093529
  • Website ID 760623093529