Weighted (magenta Edition) (vinyl)

$33.95 (new)


Estimated Shipping Time
In Stock. Usually ships next business day

LP, 2019

4 tracks, 1 side


Free Shipping over $50

Limited colored vinyl LP pressing. One year after Michigan-based artist Zach Saginaw released his third album as Shigeto, a genre-blending Detroit love letter called The New Monday, he returns with another eclectic display of affection for the musical community that makes Motor City music tick. The four new tracks on his Weighted EP, including a sumptuous remix from Detroit house luminary Andrés, continue to refine and augment the patchwork of jazz, hip-hop, and electronics that Shigeto has built his catalog with. But far be it from Saginaw to repeat himself. Whether it's the heavy, disjointed beats of "Fight Club" or the vibey house roller "The Line Up (feat. Ian Fink)," Weighted drops as many low-key surprises as it does smokey grooves. A track as blown-out and deceptively simple as "Ooh Ooh" might at first feel like an anomaly coming from Shigeto—once the cacophonous production settles in, however, it clearly bears the mark of a master producer flexing new muscles. And that's true of Weighted as a whole. Saginaw is pushing his music into fresh spaces, forming imaginative shapes while keeping his focus on the city and culture that so deeply inspires him.

Ghostly Interna

4 tracks, 1 side

Side 1

  1. Fight Club
  2. Ooh Ooh
  3. The Line Up (FT. Ian Fink)
  4. Detroit Part II (FT. Marcus Elliot) [Andrés Remix]
  • Artist Shigeto
  • Format LP
  • Released 2019
  • Label Ghostly Interna
  • Genre Electronic
  • UPC 804297832814
  • Website ID 804297832814

Electronic Dance

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Want to be the first?