Rachel Baiman

Shame (vinyl)

$29.95 (new)


Estimated Shipping Time
Unavailable. Usually ships next business day

LP, 2017


Product Unavailable

Vinyl LP pressing. Shame, the 2017 debut full-length album from Rachel Baiman, is a work of striking importance from a fresh voice that is bound to reach many ears in the years to come. On the album's ten tracks, Baiman commands attention with songwriting prowess and a depth of presence well beyond her 27 years. The album is a thought-provoking exploration on life as a female in America, with a strong lyrical focus on social justice issues. Despite the serious subject matter, the sound of the album remains light and centers around groove-based, largely acoustic instrumentation. Produced by Andrew Marlin of Mandolin Orange, the lush and varied musical texture heard on Shame is a departure from Baiman's previous stripped-down duo work with 10 String Symphony. Baiman's vocals are arresting throughout; simultaneously rich and subdued, her husky tone and unaffected delivery pair beautifully with the record's stew of folk, alt country, and gospel sounds.

Free Dirt Records

  • Artist Rachel Baiman
  • Format LP
  • Released 2017
  • Label Free Dirt Records
  • Genre Country
  • UPC 877726008319
  • Website ID 877726008319


This product has not been reviewed yet.

Want to be the first?